Apple forum: my message about Leopard + iMac G5 just got removed!

After maybe 30 min. this post on the Apple forum that I just made got removed. Now I know why I felt like making a screen-shot…! *Update, 05.04.08: to be precise the first “screen-shot” is a .pdf made via  “Save as PDF”, the second one is a real screen-shot. You can see the URL on top of the .pdf one: it is the same as on the other one…! – And my forum message is still off-line today, so I take this as Apple’s answer to my question about if they can fix these problems. Not good.*

My forum’s message URL currently says:

“Error: you do not have permission to view the requested forum or category.”

(Note: the first screen-shot was made with the current Firefox Beta, the second one with Safari.)

Looks like someone from the PR department at Apple is trying to censor me?! Well done, Apple! This is the internet, people do talk about these things…! (And I am sure I will share this story with my dear Apple Final Cut Pro User Groups colleagues!) And this is the text that someone from the Apple forums just removed – I believe it was an appropriate and tasteful posting for the “Using your iMac G5” forum at discussions.apple.com – Apple seems to think differently…

Dear Apple: fix Leopard + iMac G5 (fan noise, sleep problems, bugs, …)!

Dear Apple,

in case you want to keep me as a costumer I ask you to quickly fix all the current issues with Leopard and G5 iMacs. My iMac has become almost unusable since I upgraded (slow, excessive fan noise, narcoleptic condition aka sleep problems and of course the long list of Leopard bugs that made this the worst upgrade since I started using Macs back at System 7). Read my full blog entry – not very flattering – here: “Leopard is killing my iMac – next stop Ubuntu…?” https://indiworks.wordpress.com/2008/03/26/leopard-is-killing-my-imac-next-stop-ubuntu/

I’d like to be able to continue using Macs and stay on this platform, but if 10.5.3 does not fix the main issues (and 10.5.x all the others in due time) I am forced to downgrade/upgrade back to 10.3.9 – and then I don’t think I will be investing in Apple hardware again.

I was sincerely hoping that Leopard would fix my iMac’s G5 fan noise problem and as we all know those problems just got worse.

This might be the end of a long and wonderful friendship – when one side does not keep its promises (deliver high quality soft- and hardware) why should I stick with you…? I feel cheated – so far. Apple, can you still deliver…? If so: show me! Now…

And Apple: here the link of the day for you. Long live free and open-source software!

8 Responses to Apple forum: my message about Leopard + iMac G5 just got removed!

  1. […] made up my mind (final reason) to phase out all Apple products from my production pipeline: OS X, Final Cut Express and […]

  2. Anonymous says:

    Did you ever solve this issue… I’m experiencing the same issue and it is annoying as hell.

  3. robert scott says:

    I am hoping to purchase the mac pro with all the upgrades and final cut pro7.
    Should I be worried re; aN$8500 purchase? Should I be avoiding something here, after reading the above.
    Nothing gets me madder than the tech world selling must haves with over hyped claims before they have been perfected for distribution to the consumer.

  4. […] broken iMac G5 after a Leopard “upgrade” that went badly wrong and when they then even removed my post to their forum about the matter in April […]

  5. adochendodync says:

    Guy .. Excellent .. Wonderful .. I’ll bookmark your web site and take the feeds alsoI’m happy to find a lot of helpful info here within the post, we need work out extra techniques on this regard, thank you for sharing. . . . . .

  6. Hi there, I desire to subscribe for this website
    to take most recent updates, so where can i do
    it please assist.

  7. wso free says:

    The other day, while I was at work, my cousin stole my
    iphone and tested to see if it can survive a twenty
    five foot drop, just so she can be a youtube
    sensation. My apple ipad is now broken and she has 83 views.

    I know this is totally off topic but I had to share it with someone!

  8. Rachelle says:

    Hi to every one, the contents present at this web site are in fact remarkable for people experience, well, keep up the
    nice work fellows.

Leave a Reply

